FIFA to introduce new Yaya Toure Award to honour the most petulant player of the year

FIFA has announced the introduction of the FIFA Yaya Toure Award during a press conference held after Monday’s Ballon d’Or Awards Ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.

According to FIFA, the Yaya Toure Award has been created in honour and recognition of the exceptionally petulant Yaya Toure- who recently launched a scathing attack on Confederation of African Football (CAF) after he lost the African Footballer of the Year Award to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, describing the decision as a “shame to Africa.” The midfielder has previously threatened to force a move from his Premier League side, Manchester City, after club officials forgot to mark his 31st birthday with a cake.

“It is important to recognise and honour such exceptional levels of petulance displaced by footballers on and off the pitch. FIFA is therefore delighted to be naming this award after one of the most petulant footballers of our time,” said a FIFA official.

The Yaya Toure Award will be inaugurated during the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2016 Awards Ceremony and will be presented to the player- male or female- who has been the “most petulant” during the past year.

FIFA officials have hinted at plans to hand the maiden Yaya Toure Award to the Ivorian himself to avoid upsetting him.